Borough President - Queens


The Borough Presidents are the executive officials of each borough. The City Charter gives them authority to: work with the Mayor in preparing the annual executive budget submitted to the City Council and to propose borough budget priorities directly to the council; review and comment on major land use decisions and propose sites for city facilities within their respective boroughs; monitor and modify the delivery of city services within their boroughs; and engage in strategic planning for their boroughs. Each Borough President appoints a member of the New York City Board of Education and a member of the City Planning Commission. Each also is a trustee of the New York City Employees' Retirement System. The Borough Presidents appoint members to Community Boards who serve without compensation, and each chairs a Borough Board. Each Borough President maintains a topographical bureau. The Borough President must be a citizen of the United States and resident of the borough when elected and throughout the term of office.
A Borough President may be removed by the Governor only on charges after a hearing. Pending the preparation and disposition of charges, the governor may suspend a borough president for a period not exceeding thirty days. Vacancies shall be filled in a prompt special election for the remainder of the term. The council delegation for the borough shall select an acting Borough President to serve until the special election. The Mayor is required to call the meetings at which such acting officials are to be named, but has no vote except in case of a tie.



Islands under jurisdiction: Big Egg Marsh, Duck Creek Marsh, East, East High Meadow, Jo Co Marsh, Mussel, Rulers Bar Hassock, Silver Hole Marsh, South Brother, The Raunt, West.


  120-55 Queens Blvd., Kew Gardens NY, 11424    Map this

Contact Numbers

(718) 286-3000
Fax:  (718) 286-2876


Sharon Lee , Acting President of the Borough. $179,200.
Deputy Borough President - Vacant
(718) 286-2640
Chief of Staff - Vicky Casella
(718) 286-2870
Acting General Counsel - Allan Swisher
(718) 286-2880
Director, Communications - Vacant
(718) 286-2640
Director, Constituent Services - Anne Marie Boranian
(718) 286-2669
Director, Community Boards/Parks - Vicky Morales Casella
(718) 286-2900
Director, Budget - Richard Lee
(718) 286-2615
Director, Planning & Development - Irving Poy
(718) 286-2860
Director, Education - Monica Gutierrez
(718) 286-2626
Director, Seniors/Health & Human Services - Brent Weitzberg
(718) 286-2680
Director, Cultural Affairs & Tourism - Phil Ballman
(718) 286-2677
Director, Immigrant Affairs & Intercultural Relations - Susie Tanenbaum
(718) 286-2741
Director, Housing - Lisa Atkins
(718) 286-2860
Director, Topographical - Mohammed Sadiq
(718) 286-2930