Civil Service, Department of


The New York State Department of Civil Service is the central personnel agency for the Executive Branch of State government responsible for administering the State Civil Service Law and enforcing Section 6, Article V of the State Constitution. The Department also provides technical services to improve the administration of the State's municipal civil service agencies (excluding New York City) and administers health, dental, accident and life insurance programs covering State employees and retirees, as well as some local government employees. Also provided by the Department are on-the-job health programs, such as nursing services, medical examinations, wellness promotion programs and occupational health services.



  NYS Department of Civil Service, Albany NY, 12239    Map this

Contact Numbers

(518) 457-2487
(877-697-5627):  (877) NYS-JOBS



Commissioner - Vacant
Acting Commissioner - Lola Brabham
Deputy Commissioner, Operations - Rebecca Corso
Deputy Commissioner, Administration - Daquetta Jones
Deputy Commissioner, Municipal Services - Joe Cavazos
Special Counsel - Marc Hannibal
Director, Communications - Jian Paolucci
Director, Employee Benefits Division - James DeWan
Director, Staffing Services Division - Jessica Rowe
Acting Director, Testing Services Division - Debra Burns
Director, Classification & Compensation Division - Abner Jean-Pierre
Director, Office of Diversity & Inclusion Management - Michael Washington
Director, Strategic Planning & Innovation - Samuel Carey
Manager, Commission Operations - Al Jordan
Director, Audit & Risk Management - Leif Engstrom
Director, Office of Human Resources & Administrative Planning - Valerie Morrison
Director, Office of Human Resources & Administrative Planning - Najuma Herimaat
Director, Office of Financial Administration - Dominique Choute