Attorney General, Office of


Attorney General must have the same qualifications for the office as the Governor, and is removable by the State Senate on recommendation of the Governor, for misconduct or malversation in office, if two-thirds of the Senate members concur. When a vacancy occurs other than by removal, the Legislature, if in session, by joint ballot, shall appoint a person to fill such vacancy; in all other cases the vacancy is filled by the Governor. Appointments are made for remainder of the unexpired term. Sec. 1, Art. V, of the NY State Constitution provides that "No election of a Comptroller or an Attorney General shall be had except at the time of electing a Governor."
For more information on the New York State Office of the Attorney General, including links to its various divisions and bureaus, please visit our website.


  State Capitol Building, Albany NY, 12224    Map this
NYC Office:   120 Broadway, New York NY, 10271    Map this

Contact Numbers

General Help Line:  (800) 771-7755
General Help Line TTY/TDD:  (800) 788-9898
Immigration Fraud Hotline:  (866) 390-2992
Healthcare Hotline:  (800) 428-9071
Medicaid Fraud Control Unit:  (212) 417-5397
NYC Press Office:  (212) 416-8000


Letitia James , Attorney General. $190,000.
Term start Jan 1, 2019, ends Dec 31, 2022
First Deputy Attorney General - Jennifer Levy
(212) 416-8085
Chief Deputy Attorney General - Vacant
Solicitor General - Barbara Underwood
Chief Deputy Attorney General, Criminal Justice - Jose Maldonado
Chief Deputy Attorney General, Economic Justice - Chris D'Angelo
Chief Deputy Attorney General, Social Justice - Meghan Faux
Chief Deputy Attorney General, State Counsel - Orelia Merchant