Public Service Commission, NYS


The mission of the Commission is to ensure safe, secure, and reliable access to electric, gas, steam, telecommunications, and water service for New York State's residential and business consumers, while protecting the natural environment. The Department also seeks to stimulate effective competitive markets that benefit New York consumers through strategic investments, as well as product and service innovations.
Commission sessions are usually held every four weeks; special sessions called as required. Composed of five Commissioners, appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the State Senate for a term of six years or to complete an unexpired term of a former Commissioner. Chair designated by Governor. Salaries: Chair $175,000; Commissioners, $127,000.



Albany Executive Office:   3 Empire State Plz., Albany NY, 12223    Map this
NYC Executive Office:   90 Church St., New York NY, 10007    Map this

Contact Numbers

Albany Executive Office:  (518) 474-7080
NYC Executive Office:  (212) 417-3168
Consumer Complaints:  (800) 342-3377


Chair - John B. Rhodes
New York City, NY.
Term ends Feb 1, 2021
James S. Alesi
East Rochester, NY.
Term ends Feb 1, 2021
Diane X. Burman
Delmar, NY.
Term ends Feb 1, 2024
Tracey A. Edwards
Dix Hills, NY.
Term ends Feb 1, 2024
John B. Howard
Duanesburg, NY .
Term ends Feb 1, 2024