Thruway Authority, NYS


The New York State Thruway Authority (Authority) is a public benefit corporation created by the State Legislature in 1950 to build, operate and maintain the Thruway System. The Authority operates and maintains a 570-mile system of highways crossing New York State.

Since its opening nearly 60 years ago, the 570-mile New York State Thruway has served as the central artery of the state's transportation system, providing a vital link between its major cities from the Atlantic Ocean to Canada and the Great Lakes. Our extensive interstate highway system serves travelers with a variety of needs and purposes, including commuters, business travelers, recreational travelers and commercial vehicle traffic. In 2018, Thruway customers traveled approximately 8.3 billion vehicle-miles on the highway, averaging roughly 23 million vehicle-miles per day.



The Board of Directors is composed of 7 members who are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the New York State Senate. The Chairperson is nominated by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.


  200 Southern Blvd., Albany NY, 12201    Map this
Mailing Address:   P.O. Box 189, Albany NY, 12201    Map this

Contact Numbers


Chair - Joanne M. Mahoney
Vice Chair - Robert L. Megna
George L. Miranda
J. Donald Rice, Jr.
José Holguín-Veras, Ph.D., P.E.
Stephen M. Saland
Heather Briccetti


Matthew J. Driscoll , Executive Director.