Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board


Congress created the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) as an independent agency within the Executive Branch to identify the nature and consequences of potential threats to public health and safety at the Department of Energy's (DOE's) defense nuclear facilities, to elevate such issues to the highest levels of authority, and to inform the public. Since DOE is a self-regulating entity, the Board constitutes the only independent technical oversight of operations at the Nation's defense nuclear facilities. Under its legislative mandate, the Board plays a key role in maintaining the future viability of the Nation's nuclear deterrent capability.



  625 Indiana Ave. NW, Ste. 700 Washington, DC 20004    Map this

Contact Numbers