Homeland Security & Emergency Services, Division Of (DHSES)


The creation of the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services (DHSES) represents one of the most significant public safety reorganizations in New York State history. The New York State Legislature approved the creation of DHSES with the passage of the State Public Safety Budget in June 2010. The Division’s mission is to provide leadership, coordination and support for efforts to prevent, protect against, prepare for, respond to, and recover from terrorism and other man-made and natural disasters, threats, fires, and other emergencies. The Division includes four offices that work together on a shared mission. Led by the Commissioner, the DHSES Executive Staff is made up of the Directors of the Offices and are collectively responsible for the overall coordination of the Division’s efforts. DHSES Offices are: the Office of Counter Terrorism (OCT), Office of Emergency Management (OEM), Office of Fire Prevention and Control (OFPC), and Office of Interoperable and Emergency Communications (OIEC).



  1220 Washington Ave., Bldg. 7A, Suite 710 Albany, NY 12226    Map this

Contact Numbers

(518) 242-5000
State Warning Point (24/7):  (518) 292-2200