New York State Supreme Court Appellate Division - First Department (New York and Bronx County)


Designations to the Appellate Division are made by the Governor from among Supreme Court Justices as follows: Presiding Justice (who shall be a resident of the Department) to serve until expiration of his term; Associate Justices (a majority of whom shall be residents of the Department) to serve for five years. Salary: Presiding Justices of the First and Second Departments, $224,700; Associate Justices, $219,200. The Appellate Division is composed of seven Justices in each of the First and Second Departments and five in each of the other departments. Additional Justices may be designated by the Governor upon certification, by the court that they are needed.



The First Department consists of the First Judicial District (New York) and the Twelfth Judicial District (Bronx). Court sits from 2 p.m. on Tues., Wed., Thurs. and on Fri. from 10 a.m. until all calendared appeals have been heard.


  27 Madison Ave., at 25th St. New York, NY 10010    Map this

Contact Numbers