Elections, Board of (BOENY)


Meets at 1:30 p.m. on Tuesdays and at the call of the President.
Consists of ten Commissioners of Elections appointed by the Council upon recommendation of two major political organizations in New York, Kings, Queens, Bronx, and Richmond Counties. Term four years and until a successor is appointed and has qualified. Salary: $300 per diem, not to exceed $30,000. Each Commissioner must be a resident and a voter of the political unit for which he is appointed. Present Board composed of five Democrats and five Republicans. The President and Secretary are selected by the Board and shall not belong to the same political party. The Board of Elections also constitutes the Board of Canvassers in the City of New York and the Board of Canvassers in each County within the City of New York.



For a list of Board of Election borough offices visit: https://vote.nyc/


  32 Broadway, 7th Floor New York, NY 10004    Map this

Contact Numbers

(212) 487-5300
Fax:  (212) 487-5349
For voter information call (866)-VOTE-NYC:  (866) 868-3692
For voter information (outside NYC):  (212) 868-3692
TTY/TDD:  (212) 487-5496

Commissioners of Elections

Jose Miguel Araujo
Party Affiliation (D)
Michael Michel
Party Affiliation (R)
President - Patricia Anne Taylor
Party Affiliation (D)
Tiffany Townsend
Party Affiliation (D)
Miguelina Camilo
Party Affiliation (D)
Simon Shamoun
Party Affiliation (R)
Gino Marmorato
Party Affiliation (R)
John WM. Zaccone
Party Affiliation (R)
Secretary - Frederick M. Umane
Party Affiliation (R)


Michael J. Ryan , Executive Director.
Deputy Executive Director - Dawn Sandow
Administrative Manager - Pamela Green Perkins
Operation Manager - Georgea Kontzamanis
Agency Chief Contracting Officer - Sherwin A. Suss
Coordinator,Candidate Records Unit - Troy Johnson
Director, Management Information Systems - Steven Ferguson
Coordinator, Election Day Operations - Debra Leible
Chief Voting Machine Technician - Carlos Rodriquez
Director, Electronic Voting System - John Naudus
Finance Officer - Gerald Sullivan
General Counsel - Steven H. Richman
Deputy General Counsel - Raphael Savino
Personnel Director - Steven Guglielmi
Director, Communications & Public Affairs - Valerie Vazquez - Diaz
Director of Equipment - Raymond Hummel
Director, Payroll - Tracy Royal
Coordinator, Voter Registration Activities - Beth Fossella