Borough President - Bronx


The Borough Presidents are the executive officials of each borough. The City Charter gives them authority to: work with the Mayor in preparing the annual executive budget submitted to the City Council and to propose borough budget priorities directly to the council; review and comment on major land use decisions and propose sites for city facilities within their respective boroughs; monitor and modify the delivery of city services within their boroughs; and engage in strategic planning for their boroughs. Each Borough President appoints a member of the New York City Board of Education and a member of the City Planning Commission. Each also is a trustee of the New York City Employees' Retirement System. The Borough Presidents appoint members to Community Boards who serve without compensation, and each chairs a Borough Board. Each Borough President maintains a topographical bureau. The Borough President must be a citizen of the United States and resident of the borough when elected and throughout the term of office.
A Borough President may be removed by the Governor only on charges after a hearing. Pending the preparation and disposition of charges, the governor may suspend a borough president for a period not exceeding thirty days.
Vacancies shall be filled in a prompt special election for the remainder of the term. The council delegation for the borough shall select an acting Borough President to serve until the special election. The Mayor is required to call the meetings at which such acting officials are to be named, but has no vote except in case of a tie.



Islands under jurisdiction: Big Town, Buck Rock, Chimney Sweep, City, Cuban Ledge, Goose, Green Flats, Hart's, High, Hog, Hunter, North Brother, Rat, Rivers, Twin.


  851 Grand Concourse, Room 301 Bronx, NY 10451    Map this

Contact Numbers

(718) 590-3500
Fax:  (718) 590-5355
Topography Unit:  (718) 590-3047


Vanessa L. Gibson , President of the Borough. $179,200.
Deputy Borough President - Janet A. Peguero
(718) 590-4036
Chief of Staff & Senior Strategic Advisor - Justin B. Cortes
(718) 590-3500
General Counsel - Robert Miraglia
(718) 590-3500
Director, Communications - Michael A. Ivory
(718) 590-3500
Director, Administration - Erica Stack-Pabon
(718) 590-3545
Senior Advisor - Thomas Lucania
(718) 590-3508
Director, Community Relations - David Coulibaly
(718) 590-6001
Director, Borough Operations - Marisol Halpern
(718) 590-3882
Director, Capital Programs - Betty McCray
(718) 590-6033
Director, Community Boards - Ciara Gannon
(718) 590-6005
Director, Education Policy & Youth Programs - Nelson Palacios
(718) 590-3515
Director, Fiscal & Personnel - Gaby Sonberg
(718) 590-5282
Director, Health & Human Services - Dr. Nancy Kheck
(718) 590-2509
Director, Information Technology - Geo Chacko
(718) 537-3405
Director, Planning & Development - Juton M. Horstman
(718) 590-3514
Director, Ombudsman and Senior Services - Larcenia Walton
(718) 590-6248
Director, Special Events - Sonia Malave
(718) 590-3989
Consulting Engineer - Vacant
(718) 590-3500
Director, Policy - Eric Pesner
(718) 590-6815
Director, Intergovernmental - Ishrael Gonzalez
(718) 590-3500
Director, Operations - Matthew Emrick
(718) 590-3510
Borough Historian - Angel Hernandez
(718) 590-3500
EEO Compliance Officer - Vacant
(718) 590-6815