Borough President - Brooklyn


The Borough Presidents are the executive officials of each borough. The City Charter gives them authority to: work with the Mayor in preparing the annual executive budget submitted to the City Council and to propose borough budget priorities directly to the council; review and comment on major land use decisions and propose sites for city facilities within their respective boroughs; monitor and modify the delivery of city services within their boroughs; and engage in strategic planning for their boroughs. Each Borough President appoints a member of the New York City Board of Education and a member of the City Planning Commission. Each also is a trustee of the New York City Employees' Retirement System. The Borough Presidents appoint members to Community Boards who serve without compensation, and each chairs a Borough Board. Each Borough President maintains a topographical bureau. The Borough President must be a citizen of the United States and resident of the borough when elected and throughout the term of office.
A Borough President may be removed by the Governor only on charges after a hearing. Pending the preparation and disposition of charges, the governor may suspend a borough president for a period not exceeding thirty days. Vacancies shall be filled in a prompt special election for the remainder of the term. The council delegation for the borough shall select an acting Borough President to serve until the special election. The Mayor is required to call the meetings at which such acting officials are to be named, but has no vote except in case of a tie.



(Islands under jurisdiction: Mussel, West.)


  209 Joralemon St., Brooklyn NY, 11201    Map this

Contact Numbers

(718) 802-3900
Fax:  (718) 802-3959
Borough President's Community Service Center Hotline:  (718) 802-3700


Antonio Reynoso , President of the Borough. $179,200.
Elected Nov. 2, 2021. He is also a Trustee, of the Brooklyn Institutes of Arts and Sciences and the Brooklyn Public Library.
Party Affiliation (D) , Ex officio
Term ends Dec 31, 2025
Deputy Borough President - Vacant
(718) 802-3700
Chief of Staff - Asher Freeman
(718) 802-3757
Deputy Chief of Staff - Alexis Rodriguez
(718) 802-3906
General Counsel - Gregory Louis
(718) 802-3831
Director, Capital Expense Budget - Astrid Cuas
(718) 802-3863
Director, Communications - Stephanie Guzman
(718) 802-3898
Director, Community Affairs - Leanna Pearson
(718) 802-3981
Director, Community Boards - Carol-Ann Church
(718) 802-4836
Constituent Affairs - Deanna Foote
(718) 802-3869
Director, Human Resources/EEO - Vacant
(718) 802-3812
Director, Information Technology - Vacant
(718) 802-3700
Director, Intergovernmental Affairs & Appointments - Daniel Abramson
(718) 802-4195
Director, Land Use and Topography - John Douglass
(718) 802-3932
Director, Operations - Pedro Sena
(718) 802-3808
Director, Partnerships - Glenda Silva
(718) 802-3810
Director, Policy - Mon Yuck Yu
(718) 802-3909
Director, Programs - Eileen Mullaney-Newman
(718) 802-3806
Legislative Director - Lacey Tauber
(718) 802-3806