Transportation (DOT)


Established by Local Law No. 27 of 1977. The mission of the New York City Department of Transportation (DOT) is to provide for the safe, efficient, environmentally responsible movement of people and goods in New York City. To fulfill this mission, DOT controls and regulates traffic; builds and maintains streets, sidewalks, highways, bridges and municipal parking facilities; maintains and operates the Staten Island Ferry; and acts as an advocate and a voice for better transportation.



  55 Water St., New York NY, 10041    Map this

Contact Numbers

24 hour information and complaint number: Dial 311 or:  (212) NEW-YORK
TTY:  (212) 504-5115


Ydanis Rodriquez , Commissioner.
(212) 839-6400
Chief of Staff - Ryan Lynch
(212) 839-6413
Executive Assistant to Commissioner - Soledad Lopez
(212) 839-6406
Assistant Commissioner, Equal Employment Opportunity, Diversity & Inclusion - Benjamin Graham
(212) 839-6603