Borough President - Manhattan


The Borough Presidents are the executive officials of each borough. The City Charter gives them authority to: work with the Mayor in preparing the annual executive budget submitted to the City Council and to propose borough budget priorities directly to the council; review and comment on major land use decisions and propose sites for city facilities within their respective boroughs; monitor and modify the delivery of city services within their boroughs; and engage in strategic planning for their boroughs. Each Borough President appoints nearly 1,000 appointees, including Community Board members and representatives to Panel on Educational Priorities, and the City Planning Commission. Each also is a trustee of the New York City Employees' Retirement System. Each Borough President maintains a topographical bureau. The Borough President must be a citizen of the United States and resident of the borough when elected and throughout the term of office.
A Borough President may be removed by the Governor only on charges after a hearing. Pending the preparation and disposition of charges, the governor may suspend a borough president for a period not exceeding thirty days.
Vacancies shall be filled in a prompt special election for the remainder of the term. The council delegation for the borough shall select an acting Borough President to serve until the special election. The Mayor is required to call the meetings at which such acting officials are to be named, but has no vote except in case of a tie.



(Islands under jurisdiction include Franklin D. Roosevelt, Belmont, Ellis, Governor's, Liberty, Mill Rock, Randall's, Ward's.)


  1 Centre St., 19th Fl., South. New York, NY 10007    Map this

Contact Numbers


Mark D. Levine , President of the Borough. $179,200.
Elected Nov. 2, 2021.
Party Affiliation (D)
Deputy Borough President - Aya Keefe
(212) 669-3634
Deputy Borough President - Keisha Sutton-James
(212) 669-3877
Chief of Operations - Elaine Cheung
(212) 669-7085
General Counsel - Peter S. Torre
(212) 669-8168
Advisor to the Borough President and Director, Policy - Chris Carroll
(212) 669-8157
Director, Communications - Winthrop Roosevelt
(212) 669-8137
Director, Community Affairs - Tricia Shimamura
(212) 669-8135
Director, Budget - Amy Slattery
(212) 669-2392
Director, Land Use and Planning - Lizette Chaparro
(212) 669-8143
Director, Constituent Services - Manuel Belliard
(212) 531-1609