City Marshals


City Marshals serve as enforcement officers of the Civil Court. No more than eighty-three city marshals shall be appointed by the Mayor, for a term of five years. City marshals are not employees of the City nor of the Civil Court and do not receive City salaries. Rather, marshals are independent public officers who earn their incomes from fees. Every marshal must live within the City of New York or in the County of Nassau, Westchester, Suffolk, Orange, Rockland or Putnam at the time of appointment and during his or her term of office. Vacancies occurring for other reasons than by expiration shall be filled by the Mayor for unexpired terms.
City Marshals are regulated by the New York City Department of Investigation, 180 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Dial 311 or (212) NEW YORK. For an up-to-date list of City Marshals visit the DOI website at



For a complete list of New York City Marshals visit: