Queens Public Library (QPL)


Queens Public Library is governed by a Board of Trustees consisting of 19 volunteer members. They are appointed by the mayor and the Queens borough president and represent each of the borough’s community districts. Term: three years and until a successor is appointed and has qualified.

The Mayor, the Speaker of the New York City Council, the Queens Borough President, the New York City Comptroller, and the New York City Public Advocate are ex officio board members.

Please visit https://www.queenslibrary.org/about-us/queens-public-library-overview/leadership/board-of-trustees for scheduled board meetings and a list of the current board of trustee members.



Central Library Hours:
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday - 9:00am - 9:00pm
Friday - 9:00am - 7:00pm
Saturday - 10:00am - 5:00pm
Sunday 12:00pm - 5:00pm
For a list of branch locations visit: https://www.queenslibrary.org/about-us/locations


  89-11 Merrick Blvd., Jamaica NY, 11432    Map this

Contact Numbers

(718) 990-0700
TTY:  (718) 990-0809

Board of Trustees


Dennis M. Walcott , President & Chief Executive Officer.
Appointed March 2016.
(718) 990-0796
Chief Librarian, Senior Vice President - Nick Buron
Chief of Staff, Senior Vice President - Gitte Peng
Chief Operating Officer, Senior Vice President - Sung Mo Kim
Chief Financial Officer, Senior Vice President - Stephen G. Mack
General Counsel, Senior Vice President - Justin Deabler