Education Retirement System, Board of (BERS)


The head of the retirement system is the Board of Trustees. The Board, subject to the limitations of the BERS Rules and Regulations and of law, establishes the policies for the administration and transaction of the business of the system and for the control of funds. The Board of Trustees consists of twenty-three panel for educational policy members, the chancellor and two employee-members elected by the membership. The term of each employee-member is four years beginning the first of January following a regular election. Each employee-member has an alternate, who will serve the duration of the term of office of the elected employee-member in the event of the death, disability, disqualification or withdrawal of the employee-member. Further, in the event of an employee-member’s absence from a meeting of the board or any committee or subcommittee thereof, the respective alternate employee-member possesses all the powers and responsibilities of said employee-member for the duration of the meeting and is counted for quorum purposes. The current board members are:



  65 Court St., Room 1602 Brooklyn, NY 11201    Map this

Contact Numbers

(929) 305-3800
Fax:  (718) 935-4124

Board of Trustees

(1) Karine Apollon, Seritta Scott and Russell Bateman Buckley are designees of Chancellor David C. Banks (2) Alison Hirsh is designee of NYC Comptroller, Brad Lander; John Dorsa is alternate designee of Brad Lander (3) Frank Sirabella, interim alternate employee member (4) Shaun Francois, alternate employee member

Phoebe Sade Arnold
Tazin Azad
Shirley Aubin
Chancellor - David C. Banks, (1)
Aaron Bogad
Geneal Chacon
Lilly Chan
Marjorie Dienstag
Amy Fair
Gregory Faulkner
Anita Garcia
Anthony Giordano
Dr. Angela Green
Naveed Hasan
Alice Ho
Comptroller - Brad Lander, (2)
Michelle Joseph
Jessamyn Lee
Employee Member - John Maderich, (3)
Employee Member - Donald Nesbit, (4)
Alan Ong
Dr. Kaliris Salas-Ramirez
Maisha Sapp
Thomas C. Sheppard
Venus Sze-Tsang
Gladys Ward
Ephraim Zakry


Sanford Rich , Executive Director.
(929) 305-3939